Finding your ideal job sometimes isn’t… ideal

For no good reason, I’m a little off today. I’m still waiting to hear back about the interview I had last week for just about my dream job. This should come as no surprise, I was told it would probably be at least two weeks, so I should know by this upcoming Tuesday. After working on a short-term project for a friend for the last week I really tried to get back to the job hunt today. It didn’t go well.

I perused LinkedIn and Indeed listings and found a few openings that I should be excited about. I’m not. Now that I found and interviewed for my pretty much perfect job, everything else I find is less than thrilling to me. I know I should be applying and actively pursuing other jobs because the one I interviewed for is unfortunately in no way a “sure thing”.

Applying for jobs I’m not very interested in and I might not get interviewed for seems silly when I’m still waiting to hear if I’m still in the running for my ideal job.

To put in more pop culture terms, imagine I’m in high school. I need an extracurricular activity to get into college, I’m desperate to get into the Glee club and I have very little interest in being a cheerleader. This feels like I auditioned for Glee club but I signed up to try out for Cheerio’s while I wait to hear back from Glee club in case I don’t get in. I don’t really want to be a Cheerio and signing up to try out doesn’t even mean I’d make the squad (btw I wouldn’t, I’m coordinationally challenged).

Logically I know this is untrue, that I should be searching and applying away. Emotionally, I’m not quite there, applying for other positions makes me feel like I’ve given up on the job I’m waiting to hear about.

So I’m allowing myself bit more time to continue working on the project for my friend’s newspaper and read all the social media/branding/marketing articles and blogs I want. I mean, all the work and reading I’m doing it relevant to whatever future job I get, so basically I’m better preparing myself for interviews and to be the best employee I can be… right?

The benefit of finding the job I really want is that I might get it.The downside is, I’m less interested in any of the other jobs I’m finding while waiting. Hopefully, I’ll get the job (or at least another interview) and won’t have to worry about how to find positions I want.

Fingers crossed!

Recent University of Edinburgh MSc Marketing grad and UNCWilmington Communication Studies alumus. Fascinated by branding, event, social media, and interactive marketing for business. Works at Eleven Mass Media

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in job search

Leave a Reply

Notifications of new posts containing attempted brilliance sent straight to your email inbox

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

