Lessons from Regina George- Surviving the Job Search Freak Out

So this week I’ve had my second job search freak out of this current job search. I say of this current search because I remember at least one freak out when I was looking for work in 2010. I learned I’m not alone in this phenomenon, my good friend living in Austin, Texas also experienced her second job search freak out this week.

What am I gonna do? Am I ever going to find a job? At what point am I going to have to move back in with my parents because I run out of money? How long can I be picky and realistically think I can actually land a job I want? Can I still take an unpaid internship or do finances take that option off the table? What’s wrong with me? What am I doing wrong? Should I have accepted that last temp job/internship even though I don’t want it?

These thoughts course through your head occasionally during regular, non-job freak out days. But then it happens… your heart races, body tenses up, and ALL of these thoughts hit you at once, much like the bus that hit Regina George in Mean Girls.

This is the job search freak out. 

My job search freak outs have resulted in tearful conversations with my boyfriend or mom (I was the one crying, not them). They’ve always concluded with, “You’re doing everything you can and you really haven’t been looking that long. Be patient, keep doing what you’re doing, and something will work out.” I then sigh, wipe my tears, and attempt to resume normal breathing. While they aren’t pretty and can be awkward for innocent bystanders, I thoroughly believe the job search freak out is cathartic. I feel like the stress that has been slowly building dissipates and I feel the sweet relief of venting the fears I generally keep safely locked up.

So here’s my advice to those on the verge of a job search freak out:

Don’t fight it, just let it happen.

Will it solve anything? No.

Will you feel better after? Most definitely.

Should job search freak outs happen daily? No, if they do you should probably go for a run or bake some cookies or whatever you do to relieve stress.

Embrace the job search freak out, breathe a sigh of relief, and get back to it. If you’re truly doing everything in your power to find a job, you WILL eventually find a job. For now just be thankful your thoughts are just thoughts and not a Mean Girls-esque bus. If Regina George broke her spine, but she still looks like a rockstar you can survive a job search freak out.

Recent University of Edinburgh MSc Marketing grad and UNCWilmington Communication Studies alumus. Fascinated by branding, event, social media, and interactive marketing for business. Works at Eleven Mass Media

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in job search, Uncategorized
4 comments on “Lessons from Regina George- Surviving the Job Search Freak Out
  1. roxanpark says:

    I believe that it IS realistic to think you can actually land a job you want.

    To clarify, depending upon where you are on your career path, it may be the “bridge” job that leads to “THE” job!

    When considering a “bridge” job, it is important to ask, “What am I going to get from this job, that is going to help me move toward my goal?”

    Roxan Park – Certified Career Management Coach

  2. […] Lessons from Regina George- Surviving the Job Search Freak Out (compellingmomentum.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who’s had a job search freak out! I’m in the middle of my second job search in four months (see my blog for more info on that) and used to freak out about once every two weeks. I’ve since realised it’s counter-productive…but if I don’t have a job before Christmas, I will probably freak out again! 😀

  4. […] sort of expected to have another job search freak out at this point but I was calm and only slightly disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, I still want the […]

Leave a Reply

Notifications of new posts containing attempted brilliance sent straight to your email inbox

